Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Hello Bitches, I'm Back!

For those who do not really know the real person behind the "Yukun" persona, this animated GIF from Homeland best describes me. 


Yes.  I can be your BEST friend and your WORST friend at any given time.  Why?  It is probably (or so I am told) because I am blunt and I have no qualms in pointing out the idiots from the crowd.

For those that have known me for ages (yes, we are almost senior citizens status), they would have read my old blog from many eons ago.  Yes, I was blogging way before blogging was even considered "cool".  After a while, despite the attention and growing readership, I gave it up simply because I could no longer express myself honestly and frankly.  Some people took offense to my bluntness and opinions.  I do not blame them, because...


So why am I back again?  Well, blogging today has become a part of a business model and too many have taken to it just to make a quick buck.  I am not back for that.  Hell, no!  God forbid.  I am not back in a desperate bid for fame or to fulfill the need for attention.  Honestly?  I do not even care if nobody reads my blog. 

I miss being myself and having an outlet to be ALMOST politically correct.  I miss the fun of putting something out and having people poking their nose into my private life.  I miss the time consuming effort in keeping readers interested.   Most importantly, I like the idea of having my part of my life legacy online (although most of it will be exaggerated).

So here we are again, coming to an end of yet another eventful year.  And quite frankly, I hate this time of year.  No, I am not against holidays and festivities.  I am against the way people buy into the commercialism of the season and end up giving you shitty gifts that you would probably end up recycling and giving it to some other person NEXT YEAR.  Do not deny.  We are all guilty of it.  Anyway, my point is... if you sincerely wanted to give me something, you do not have to wait till Christmas.  My door (and pockets) are opened 24/7. Cash preferred, so that I can go buy something that I really need.

Before you go accusing me for being a Grinch and having an anti-holiday spirit... here's a card I drew a while back for a marketing company... so please retract that accusing finger.  Thank you.


But quite honestly, I do not see the joy of the season.  Christmas shopping?  Are you crazy?  Have you seen the crowds in town?  Unfortunately I have, which brings me to this little true story...

My trusty 10-year-plus black MacBook conked out on me the night before.  I did all the usual checks, power cord switches and etc.  Nothing worked. It could not be resuscitated.  Despite the loss of SOME precious data, I could not complain much.  For a laptop to last that long without giving any issues during it's operational life, it is considered money well-spent.  Well done, Apple!  Oh, that by the way is not a cheap product placement.  I wish it was though.  God only know who much I would get paid for saying that.

So today, I had no choice but to head down to down to get a replacement.  Journey down by subway, no complains.  When I reached Orchard Road... OMFG! (for those still out of the loop when it comes to jargons... it simply means Oh Em Ef Gee.)



I know Singapore's already over populated, but this is fucking ridiculous!  And do not tell me that it is the Christmas crowd or holidaying tourists.   Correct me if I am wrong, it has been this conjested for quite a while now, at any time of the year.  I am not claustrophobic but this is enough to make me understand what that psychological fear is about.   Thankfully like most guys, I am all about the "grab and go" routine.  Unless there was a million bucks involved, I am not going to hang around or do any browsing or shit like that.   I already knew what I needed to buy so I did an Eric Cartman...



I settled for an upgraded MacBook Pro (the one with more ports than a regular whore) and headed back home.  This is where it really pissed me off.  I had to wait for THREE trains before I could board because the earlier two were literally full to the brim.  The third was not that any better either.  To stand for the entire bloody 30-minute journey and to be cramped like sardines with a concoction of body ordour (I am not saying from which nationality) assaulting your nostrils is kind of like being a Jew in a Nazi gas chamber.  First class transport?  More like first class torture chamber.



Which brings me to the next obvious thing which most of you already know.  At least 50% of the people in the train carriage that I was in were NOT Singaporeans.  No, the other 50% were not foreign tourists either.  And if that was not enough to grind your gear, along comes this PRC woman with a baby in one hand and pushing a loaded pram with the other hand.  The train was already full but she insisted in getting in, ramming the pram right into my shin.  Did she say sorry?  No.  It is as if I was wrong to be obstructing her. I really had half the mind to...




Now I know why I do not have kids... so that I do not end up being a social irritant like this one.  And I hope that my friends that do have kids, please bear in mind that having baby pram does not mean that the entire fucking world has to rotate around you and that you can go around insisting your right of way just because you have a brawling baby.

Things like this make this "first world" country utterly shitty.  Sure, not all Singaporeans are gracious but did we really have to go import all these socially inconsiderate cunts.  I am not being xenophobic.  I agree that we do need foreign workers to fill in the gaps... but who the fuck left the floodgates opened till now?

Sorry for digressing.  This is not the main point of the story I am trying to relate.  Miraculously I managed to survive the genocide, and made my way home with a slightly bruised shin.   My old dead MacBook was still plugged into the power socket at my work desk.  I placed the new MacPro box next to it, opened it up and proceeded to do the necessary registration and configuration when suddenly I heard that familiar start-up tone coming from the old MacBook.  Nobody else was in the room, and I certainly did not touch the start button either.  It came on by its own!  CROSS MY HEART!  I freaked out.  Said the Lord's Prayer under 5 seconds and started to investigate.   It was not on sleep mode either because I spent a good one hour checking everything last night when it "died".  I related the incident to my Dad and he calmly responded, "your old laptop jealous that you bought a new one".  As the cloud of mystery continues to linger, I conclude that it must be possessed by the ghost of Steve Jobs. 


 

And for some strange reason, I actually feel coerced (by a supernatural force) into buying a new laptop.  There goes S$1,800.  Well, what is done, is done.  The only thing left to do now is to quickly do the necessary back-ups and transfers into the MacPro before anything else happens.

p/s I asked SIRI and this is what she had to say about it...

No comments:

Post a Comment