Sunday, January 25, 2015

Respect My Authority?


I am sure that everyone has at one point or the other, have to deal with some joker who has a mediocre dead-end job that thinks he is above everyone else... i.e. a security guard.

Firstly, you most definitely for either health or academic reasons cannot get a job as a proper police officer... so it is obvious you had to settle for second fiddle.  For some who obviously do not know the proper job description... it entails you to protect property, assets, or people.  YOU ARE NOT PAID TO ENFORCE RULES AND REGULATIONS (simply because YOU ARE JUST A SECURITY GUARD).

But sadly, some people when given some form of authority, find the need to flex their muscle because their lives are that insignificant.  I had to deal with one this week.  For over 3 years, I have been going to work, showing my ID card to the relevant security office at the door and going about my business. However, this week... one particular idiot upon checking my photo ID, asked me to remove my glasses (as my photo was without glasses).  LIKE AS IF I LOOK THAT MUCH DIFFERENT WITH OR WITHOUT GLASSES?  For fuck's sake... do I like like a master of disguises to you?  I wonder if I will be refused entry if I actually changed my hair style.

Anyway, I commented... "You're the first in all these years."

"HELLO!!!  I'm only doing my job."

"HELLO? You don't try to be funny, ok?  You're not getting extra pay for your enthusiasm."


Back in the army, my company sergeant major always had this "advice" for us, "just do what you're asked to do and don't try to act smart!"

Which is something some people ought to adhere.  Before you stick your neck out, ask yourself if by doing so, you are going get some form of monetary reward or job promotion... or end up given the middle finger behind your back.  Remember, by "acting smart", you may in the process also piss off your colleagues for "spoiling market".  Nobody likes a smart ass.

Meanwhile, back in America...


To put it across as bluntly as I can... you are just a "jaga" in a business suit.  You are not the law and you are certainly not above me.  You are just that little cheap rug that I need to clean my shoes on before I enter any premises.  So for fuck sake, behave like one and curb your enthusiam!

Friday, January 2, 2015

Silence... please!


So how's the new year so far?  Horrible so far.  No thanks to the existence of inconsiderate people who think the whole world rotates around them.  Does it hurt just to think of the rest of the people around you?  Apparently, not for them.  If you think about it, they exist because we allow them to. 

"Bear with it."

"Let it pass."

"Aiyah, nevermind lah!"

And so they continue with their ways without knowing that they are actually pissing people off.   Tell them off nicely?  How many would do that without the fear of a conflict as a result?  That is the problem with society today.  

For the past four mornings, I have been rudely awakened by the new neighbours... THREE times in the morning.  One as they walk pass the common corridor (speaking loudly) to go for breakfast at 8 am in the morning, two as they come back from breakfast and finally number three as they leave for work at 9 am.  I am not denying that it is broad daylight and etc but spare a fucking thought for others that might still be sleeping due to whatever reasons (i.e. shift work, sick and etc).  You do not own the entire block.  Yes, it is part of community living but do we continue to turn the other cheek and let these people get on with their socially inconsiderate ways?  Do we send them a nice scented letter saying "please keep quiet" and hope that they will be more understanding?  I do not know what the best solution is. By the way, the two loudspeakers are not local.


And to add icing on the cake, on the way home from work on the subway... this Pinoy father with two kids in prams simply allowed the brats to make a ruckus, not bothered if they are actually irritating the rest of the passengers.  Do not tell me the train itself is already noisy or tell me that "kids are like that". It is the behaviour of the father that is in question here.  If dogs can be disciplined, I do not see why one should let your kids behave like they own the entire fucking train.  And because of this sort of upbringing, these kids will grow up to be the very assholes that walk pass my bedroom window every morning and talking as if they own the fucking country.

See the vicious cycle and where the problem begins?  

And so I come to the end of my otherwise shitty day... with a migraine.  This song sums everything up in four simple syllables.

p/s and there is a reason why the military psychologist diagnosed me as "lack of patience" and "trigger happy", thus I was not allowed near a weapon for almost the entirety of my operational military service... but instead, they trained me to assemble and dismantle explosive devices.  No wonder I can relate to Achmed.  Silence! I Kill You!